FSC curve comparison

Hi,

I am fairly new at cryoEM and have been using cryosparc for my reconstructions on a dataset. I was hoping for some quick comments/advice/recommendations from experienced users of cryosparc/cryoEM experts.

For 3 different subsets of articles from the same full dataset, I get reconstructions between 4.02-4.13A. The maps overall seem to be comparable - some parts of the protein are clearly at high resolutions with clear side chain densities but some parts are at far low resolution (5.5-7A range). I get the following FSC curves for the 3 different maps (see below). The tight and corrected curves seem to converge in the high resolution range but seem to deviate in the low resolution range. My questions are:
(1) Do you think my reconstructions would be trustworthy given these FSC curves?
(2) Would I be correct in concluding that given these FSC curves, the features in the 5.5-7A are not trustworthy? (these low resolution features correspond to important domains of my protein - I am wondering whether it would be technically correct to dock homology models of the domains into the densities to identify how these domains are organized in the full protein. I understand that trying to build in models into these low density features would be risky/inaccurate but with respect to domain organization would it be okay to use these low resolution features)
(3) Given these FSC curves, would you consider the maps to be at publication level? (That would probably be hard to answer I know. But I am concerned whether there is something glaringly incorrect in my FSC curves which would clearly point towards something wrong. My maps seem to be fairly reasonable as far as I can tell.)

Any tips on what tests I could do or what I should look out for in maps to be sure that “everything is ok”.

Thanks in advance.P9_J576_fsc_iteration_007 P9_J646_fsc_iteration_005 P9_J653_fsc_iteration_005

1 Like

Welcome, schow!