Queue message : GPU not available

Hello,

I am new to the program and trying to run T20S tutorial. I have three machines with 1GPU each. I got to the motion correction and I define 3 GPU to use (1 on each machine). Unfortunately I got permanently queued jobs

---------- Scheduler running --------------- 
Jobs Queued:  [('P1', 'J13')]
Licenses currently active : 0
Now trying to schedule J13
  Need slots :  {'CPU': 18, 'GPU': 3, 'RAM': 6}
  Need fixed :  {'SSD': False}
  Master direct :  False
    Queue status : waiting_resources
    Queue message : GPU not available

Since all workers are the same I attached one from Resource Manager/Instance Information

Target 3: gr3 node

Cores 16
Memory 64 GB 
GPUs 1
Worker bin path /usr/local/cryoSPARC/cryosparc_worker/bin/cryosparcw
Hostname gri13
Name gr13
Cache path /data-em/cryos/temp
Cache quota (MB)
SSH String cryos@gr13
Cache Reserve (MB) 1 0000

Anyway I am confused of why this is failed?

Dear @ketiwsim,
Patch Motion Correction and several other jobs in cryoSPARC can be parallelized across GPUs within a single node/workstation but not across multiple nodes. If you clear and re-queue the job requesting 1 GPU, it should run. Thanks!

Dear Spunjani,

Thank you for your explanation.
Could you specify which programs will use multiple GPUs/CPUs of all workers?
2D classification also seems to not accept more than one GPU.
Best regards,
Ketiw

Hi @ketiwsim, any cryoSPARC job that includes the “Number of GPUs to parallelize” parameter can use multiple GPUs on the same machine. This includes the following jobs:

• All motion correction jobs
  • Patch CTF
  • 2D Classification
  • Topaz Train and Cross Validation
  • Deep Picker Train and Inference

However, as @spunjani mentioned, jobs can only use multiple CPUs and GPUs installed on the same machine. A job cannot be distributed across multiple machines.

Hi @frasser,

I also have a similar situation with the same response.