Icosahedral Virus refinement FSC curve

Hi

I’m relatively new to the Single Particle Analysis pipeline, but I’m currently working on processing an icosahedral virus structure with a peptide attached to its surface.
I did a homogenous refinement with ‘I’ symmetry applied and then supplied this refined structure as an input to another homogenous refinement with symmetry relaxation via maximization to figure out the symmetry-breaking feature, i.e., the peptide.

*The parameters that I used for homo refinement with 'I" symmetry applied are:
symmetry: I
minimize over per-particle scale: true
Fit spherical aberration:true
Fit Tetrafoil: true
optimize per particle defocus: true
FSC: J201(2.47A)

*The parameters that I used for homo refinement with symmetry relaxation are:
symmetry:I
Initial low-pass resolution: 20
Symmetry relaxation method: maximization
FSC:J210 (3.79A)

J201_fsc_iteration_010_after_fsc_mask_auto_tightening (1)
J210_fsc_iteration_008_after_fsc_mask_auto_tightening (1)

a. Are these parameters accurate? Additionally, I find the FSC curves difficult to interpret; they look so different than the standard curves that I observed in the literature.

b. At the moment, I can’t discern the density of the attached peptide. I intend to perform local refinement to see if I can figure out the density. Do you have any alternative suggestions for this approach?

Thank you
K.S

Hi,

I would recommend using a much less aggressive initial low pass filter for your symmetry-relaxed refinement - based on your first FSC, I would say an initial lowpass of 5Å should be fine. I would also add 5-10 additional final passes (as the convergence criteria are FSC based, they do not yet account for convergence of the sym relaxation procedure).

As an alternative strategy, you might try symmetry expansion followed by classification without alignments with a focus mask around a single subunit, and a solvent mask covering the entire capsid.