High resolution of negative staining data

Dear all,
I’m a novice in image analysis and am trying to build a crude model from a set of our negative staining graphs. I have built several ab-initio models but none of them have a contour of the existing crystal structure. Also, a strange thing I noticed is that the final models all have a high resolution(~5Å) comparing to the usual resolution 10~20Å. I would like to know which step is most likely to go wrong. I used template picker method and did one round of homogeneous refinement. I could provide the result of each job if necessary.

This is the GSFSC graph of one my models.

I would start by creating templates from a low pass volume generated in chimera from the crystal. This will show you how it might look in 2D classes. Then compare with 2D classes. Further, can select similar 2D and run abinitio with those particles. Initial model generation is a difficult step.

1 Like

I’m not sure this is necessary - ab initio should work fine for negative stain data, no need to use crystal structures if data is good (and at NS resolution it will not tell you much in any case).

Regarding the high resolution - keep in mind that in negative stain, the “true” resolution is limited by the grain size of the stain (to ~20Å, depending on the stain), but the FSC only measures self-consistency of the two half-reconstructions. I would pay more attention to what the map looks like than to the FSC in this instance. Do you see a clear molecular envelope? How do the 2D classes look?

2 Likes

Thanks for your replying!

This is the final 2D classification. I selected 10 from these 15 classes.

This is how the model looks like. I’m not sure if there is a clear molecular envelope.