"Error: Could not list directory" even after setting rights correctly

Hi,

It’s the second time I experienced this. I’m a systems administrator and i manage Cryosparc instances for our users.

When they try to access a directory for which they don’t have rights, they get an access error. So far, so good. But when I set their access rights so they can get to it, the message “Error: Could not list directory” still comes up.

I tried restarting Cryosparc, but it didn’t change anything. Then, a few days later (3-4), access to the directory becomes possible.

This strongly looks like Cryosparc caches some info about access rights and doesn’t check it again until the cache expires. Here, the files are served through NFS. Needless to say, I tried to access the files with the same user that Cryosparc uses and I was able to access the files directly from the same machine. The problems only show up when listing the directory from within Cryosparc.

Is there some way to get around this problem ?

Thanks,
J.C.H

Please can you describe the context of the attempted access (while running a job? while performing a specific action in the web app?) and where (specific log files or GUI elements) the error messages appear.

What method did you use to modify access rights?
Do the affected files have extended attributes, for example related to selinux?

Hi,

The error appeared while browsing when creating a new project :

The rights were set by adding the corresponding user to the owner group in our active directory. I then tested by su’ing to the user with which Cryosparc runs was able to do ls of the directory.

Thank you for your interest,
J.C.H

As the Linux user that runs the CryoSPARC webapp, please can you run these commands on the CryoSPARC master computer and post their outputs:

whoami
ls -ald / 
ls -ald /shared
ls -ald /shared/mendel
ls -ald /shared/mendel/projects

Hi, here are the results :

$ whoami
cs-cs-<REDACTED>
$ ls -ald /