Attempting standalone installation on hpc, error "unknown option: --license"

Hi there,

I am a bit new to this, so bear with me.

I am ssh-tunneling remotely into our hpc computing service and attempting to install a standalone installation there. I have confirmed with the hpc admin that this installation should, theoretically, work. Based on “lsb_release -a” the hpc is running Linux 7.9 (Nitrogen).

I am following the standalone installation according to (https://cryosparc.com/docs/reference/install). Regardless of code input strategy, i.e. line-by-line with “” at the end of each line, or without “” at the end of each line, or by running each line separately, I get the same error: “unknown option --license”.

“echo $LICENSE_ID” yields my license number back to me showing that the “export LICENSE_ID=”<license_id>" seems to have worked and, similarly, “curl https://get.cryosparc.com” yields “{“message”:“Missing Authentication Token”}” again indicating license is correct/active.

Any advice?

Update: if I instead input it without using “” at all, as follows:

./install.sh --standalone --license $LICENSE_ID --worker_path <workerpath/cryosparc2_worker> --cudapath <cuda_path> --ssdpath <ssd_path> --initial_email “email@email.com” --initial_password test123 --initial_name “EvO”

I get the error:

“ping: socket: operation not permitted”
“Error: could not ping login-X-X.data.cluster”

Which sounds more like an hpc/remote access problem, possibly?

Hi evo, same for me, I am not a Linux expert, so … from your question it is not clear, are you replacing the information between < > by the real situation or not? For instance <cuda_path> shoud actually be the location of your cuda installation, without <> and without “”. The same for the cryosparc2 worker directory and the ssd mounting point. It’s been a while since I installed Cryosparc2, but from my memory there were no “” anywhere - not even in my email address.