Analysis of bound substrates into active site

Dear All,

I am quite new in cryoEM SPA and I am working on a enzyme.
I can clearly see density for substrates in the active site and I wanted to know wheter there is variability in term of substrates lenght and positioning inside the active site.
How can I approach this problem ? I know I should generate some masks and refine but I am struggling at finding some examples in the literature.
My global resolution is around 3.2A and my structure has C2 symmetry (dimer).
How big should be the mask ? Should cover the whole asymmetric unit on just a region around the active site ?

With many thanks,
GIA

1 Like

Would any of these differences be expected to generate a concomitant conformational change in the protein?

Hi @giax ,
I’m pretty certain the answer is yes, there is variability of the substrate inside the active site, with various degrees depending on how specific/tight your enzyme binds its substrate.
You say that you see a good density for the substrate in the consensus map so that is a great start. Using 3DVA, you “can/may” see some variability in the substrate too, depending on your particle stack. Since you have a 3.2Å map, I recommend running 3DVA at 4 or 4.5Å to see global movements, and check each map for substrate density or not. I have a similar case where substrate is present in some maps but not all, in line with the physiological function of my protein.
If you then want to model substrate movement inside your protein, give phenix.varref a try. At your resolution, it is likely that your 3DVA maps will loose resolution for the substrate, you will have to apply restraints on ligand position.
Best of luck
Vincent

1 Like

Hi,
The protein structure will definitely change from bound to unbound state as we have observed it already (we have a dataset for apo and another one with subtrates).
How can I mask part of my enzyme to highlight differencies in the active site ?