Ab-initio and Hetero Refinement not good enough for 3D volume from 2D classes

Dear all,

I am new in structural biology and Cryo-EM. I have been trying to acquire the structure of my protein for quite some time with no success (internal membrane protein in detergent micelle with small cytosolic domain). I have about 50.000 particles after strict inspection following template picking using older templates (original particle number was over 6 million from 20.000 micrographs). I managed to get good 2D classes after multiple rounds of 2-D classification using various settings. At the moment I am unable to reconstruct a 3D volume of my protein inside the detergent micelle. I have tried different Ab-initio settings as well as heterogeneous refinement again using an already solved structure of this protein, but nothing seems to work. The problem is that I get some extra density inside the micelle but it ends up being just junk. I can see parts of my protein in 2D but ab-initio can not align the different orientations to construct a complete 3D structure. Moreover, I have performed 3 session using the same microscope and conditions (TitanKrios 3Gi) and in all cases I was able to reach until the 2D classes stage, which makes me think there is something systematic that is wrong.

Could someone please suggest some good settings for Ab-initio or heterogeneous refinement that I could use? Here I provide you some of my own micrographs 2D templates, my Ab-initio vs what it should look like.

Any advice and comment would be much appreciated. Thank you!

settings: 2D: 50 classes, Initial classification uncertainty factor 6,separation distance 10, final full iterations 5, number of final full iterations 50, batch-size per class 1000

ab initio: max resolution 4, initial resolution 15, initial iterations 200, final iterations 300, initial minibatch size 300, final minibatch size 1000, C1 symmetry.