2D class mapping onto 3D volumes

Hi all,

Im fairly new to EM but I thought I useful feature would be to map 2D classes onto a particular view of a 3D volume (either ab initio or refinement) so you can see the 2D view that corresponds with the class. I have a tough time with some classes to see or interpret what class the view is. This is important for heterogeneous samples where a view could be for monomer or could be for dimer. If I could see how the class maps to the reconstruction it may help with cleaning steps during 2d classification.

Thanks!
Matt

If you have a model you can create templates at all orientations and identify views as rotations from others

1 Like

The alignement algorithms are not the same, and AFAIK the information from 2D class is not carried over to 3D alignement. This is actually good to avoid bias. So although I think I understand what you are trying to do, that is not how I - and I think most people - work. For instance if you start filtering out 2D classes that don’t seem to fit what you expect to be the right 3D volume, you might start driving the 3D reconstruction to something completely artificial. Instead, I usually employ 2D classification just to remove what really looks like junk, and then use ab-initio in multi-classes, and/or heterogeneous refinement, 3D classifications and 3DVA to separate different conformations if they exist. This should also work for different oligomerisation states provided that you have good SNR and enough images.

1 Like

Thanks for the response.

In general, what is your 3d protocol for cleaning? I guess my concern is I have particles that are very different in size, such that I have optimized boxes for those given particles I am trying to refine.

Also, I have tried mutli-class ab initio (probably incorrectly) and it looks like rather than giving a junk class to filter those misses, it just splits the dataset into two sets of views.