Workflow to find local changes in helical filaments

Hello, I am new in protein reconstruction and like Cryosparc though have a lot of questions!
Could you please recommend what steps to use if I have several similar regions in my helical filaments and only 1 region that should be different from the others? When I do helical refinement, Cryosparc averages all regions and I don’t see local changes.

Hi,
It’s hard for me to tell what the problem is based on this post. Could you elaborate a little more. Here are some thoughts that may or may not be helpful.

By definition helical symmetry means that there are multiple copies of the same asymmetric unit. Are you saying that there are multiple proteins/domains in your helical filament are being averaged together or that you are unable to resolve local variations in your protein’s conformation using helical reconstruction?

Some thoughts:

1. Is the helical symmetry being imposed correct?
  2. Are there local variations in your filament subunits that you are trying to resolve?
    -If you have correct symmetry but point 2 is your problem try something like relaxing the symmetry using homogenous refinement from your starting density map or 3DVA analysis.

I would be happy to share more thoughts/suggestions I just need to know more.

Best,
Mark Kreutzberger
Postdoc, Egelman Laboratory

Hello, Mark!

Thank you so much for your reply! Nice to meet you! I am a Postdoc at BU.
I use C1 symmetry, I know the twist and rise, and the structure looks like pretty well, resolution 2.7 A. But. The task is to find local variations in my filament. Roughly, I have 7 pseudo-similar domains along the filament. I suppose at least 2 of them should be kind of different, but remain too similar for Helical refinement.