Trying to separate out two datasets that have been merged

Hi! I have an odd problem – I recently collected two datasets (using EPU) of the same sample with the same optics (same dose, calibrated the scope between each dataset, same pixel size, etc.). In trying to get some stuff going (and since I am a bit of a novice), I carried out import, MotionCorr, and CTF estimation with all micrographs at once, instead of doing each dataset alone.

I recently was told that it might be good to independently process each dataset before merging – will I have to re-import, MC, and CTF estimate the, or is t datasets individually, or is there another way that I can easily split the mics in cryoSPARC?

One idea I had for this came from, putzing around in the CTF estimation folder and it looks like the output from it has 3 files from every micrograph (a *.mrc file and two *.npy files). Can I possibly separate outputs from the CTF estimation using the UIDs that EPU puts on their movies, and then re-import the CTF estimated mics? I guess my only confusion with this is in what I should import, because I don’t really understand the purpose of the *.npy files

Sorry if the question is wordy and confusing. I appreciate any advice I can get.

Were the datasets collected consecutively? That is, do they have different ranges of dataset indices? If so you could prob separate them out based on the index range in Curate Exposures

In addition to Oli’s suggestion, you could perform a second import of movie_set_1 followed by an intersect operation in Exposure Sets Tool, comparing your existing CTF output (set A) against movie_set_1 (set B) while ignoring UID. With any luck, A_intersect_B and A_minus_B output groups should correspond to your two halves.

Cheers,
Yang

1 Like

Trying these out today, will let y’all know if one or the other works!

Hi all,