Topaz Train job going through but outputing flat curves

Hello everyone,

I am currently trying to train protein-specific particle pickers with the Topaz Train job and understand better the CryoSparc integration of Topaz, as I am new to cryosparc.

My original plan and train of thought was to use a previously generated “clean” set or particles that yielded a good quality map that went to high resolution:

Selecting clean particle coordinates

• Ran a 2D Classification job with the “clean particles”
  • Selected the 2D classes with various poses, trying my best to include the “rare” classes

This outputs, I believe, particle coordinates (not a particle stack) that in combination with the micrographs will allow training of Topaz Model.

Generating denoised micrographs for Topaz training

• Trained a Micrograph Denoiser on a subset of 100 exposures from the same starting exposures used throughout the data processing to reach final resolution (essentially same raw material).
  • Applied the trained denoiser model on all exposures used for data processing

Setup Topaz training

First off, It is not clear to me if topaz uses particles stacks (already extracted) or particle coordinates and then extracts from micrographs. It seems to be it is the later but I’d like to be sure.

In order to troubleshoot more efficiently, I’ve been running topaz train on a small dataset of 100 exposures. When I run the topaz trainer on the 100 denoised exposures and template-picked or blob picked particles I get the following Warning:

WARNING: 57947 particle coordinates are out of the micrograph dimensions. Did you scale the micrographs and particle coordinates correctly?

And I get flat or no curves at all.