Similar Fourier space slices with and w/o fourier crop to box size

Hi,
I’m new to the structural biology world. I have been processing the data for HIV Env (420kDa). This data set was collected on Tundra, 100kV, Pixel Size: 0.76A
Initially, I have used extraction box size as 320pix and 80 pix as Fourier crop to box size. I got 9.85 A resolution after NU-refinement. Below is the image for the fourier space slices from NU-refinement.

Later I have extracted without fourier crop, and even after processing the data I still got the same results and fourier space slices look small too.

Should I be expecting same resolution? I can share more information if needed.

Thank you.

Hi @ml705, and welcome to the forum!

If you Fourier cropped your particle images to 80 pixels for the first refinement, we would expect those boxes to only go from 0 to 79 — it looks like both refinements here used the full-size images. \

There are a few ways this might have happened. If you share the parameters you used for extraction we could tell for sure, but the most likely way I can think of is if you set the Second (small) F-crop box size parameter but used the full-size images. Alternately, if you used the small arrows in the text box to set the parameter, it may not have been set properly.

If you’d like to figure out why the particle images were not sucessfully F-cropped, please post the parameters you used in your particle extraction job and I can help you take a look :slight_smile: .

As for why the Fourier circles look small in these images, that is expected if both of the refinements only go to low resolution.