Particle picking for a slab shaped molecule

Hi Everyone,

EM newbie here. I am working with a “slab” like protein which has dimensions of ~ 100 x 200 x 60 A. After 2d classification, I see plenty of views that correspond to the 100 x 200 A face. The other two views are difficult to extract - presumable because one dimension is very small.

Any suggestions on how to go about this ?

Thanks

Here’s my advice based on experience with an elongated protein with even more severe dimensions (20 x 200 x 30). After any of these picking approaches, you should extract with 4x binning, run 2D classification, and re-pick with templates. You probably don’t need more than 4 templates because they will be heavily low-passed and you will adjust the cross-correlation threshold after picking. In my experience crYOLO also worked well once I had sufficient good picks for training - I imagine Topaz will work too. You can train them based on 2D class selection based on these initial strategies.

• Overpick with blobs (Cryosparc uses all the blobs - a series of circles and ellipses from the minimum to the maximum size)
  • Manually pick w/ intentional bias to your difficult view up to ~5k particles
  • Generate templates from negative stain reconstruction or other initial model

You can try a more aggressive low-pass than normal, like 30-50 Å, and remember you can combine picks optimized for different views, then exclude duplicate particles using Relion or star.py --min-separation (from pyem).

I still haven’t found an approach I’m entirely satisfied with - particle picking is not a solved problem! Good luck, let us know what’s working in your case :slight_smile:

Thanks Daniel !

Regarding your third suggestion - using templates from an initial model.