No protein features seen in 2D classes but rather some weird rings

Dear cryoSPRAC users:

I’m a beginner to learn and use cryoSPARC version 3.1.0. Recently we collected a dataset on Krios microscope with K3 detector, the data acquisition settings were:
Total dose: 80 e/A^2
Dose per frame : 2.0 e per frame
40 frames/movie
Defocus range: -0.5 to -2.25 um (interval 0.25 um)
Magnification: 130 kx
Pixel Size (Sampling): 0.675A
Exposure time: 2.3 secs
Spherical abberation (Cs): 2.7
Voltage: 300kv

The protein particle is ~170 kDa and has a size of ~60-160 A in diameter, appearing a bent-rod like shape. I chose elliptical blob for the blob picking on a small batch (~10%) of micrographs and used the following parameters:
Minimum particle diameter: 70 A
Maximum particle diameter: 170 A
Turn off Use circular blob
Turn on Use elliptical blob
Other settings were kept as default.

After inspecting the picks, I did particle extraction using the parameters:
Extraction box size (pix): 400
Fourier crop to box size (pix): 320

For 2D classification, the parameters were set as:
Number of 2D classes: 200
Number of final full iterations: 2
Number of online-EM iterations: 40
Batchsize per class: 400

But the output 2D shapes don’t appear any protein feature but rather some weird rings, as shown in the attached image.

Could anyone please give me some clue? I couldn’t figure out which step/setting I did wrong.

Thanks!

Have you got any answer?

While I don’t think this will improve the classes significantly, did you try turning OFF “Force Max over poses/shifts”?

Also, could you please share a raw micrograph as well as one where we can see the picks?