Multiple rounds of 3D variability?

I’m new to using 3D variability and I seem to be conflating some concepts here. I’m trying to separate out distinct conformational states of a trimeric protein using 3DVA. The protein is a trimer and each monomer can independently exist in one of 2 conformations (A and B). The conformational state of any subunit does not preclude the either conformational state of the other two. My workflow is shown in the attached image. I’m dividing particles based on the assumption that each cluster contains a defined set of particles with a particular conformation (A or B) of the masked subunit. My results do suggest that all possible combinations of particles (AAA, AAB, BBB and so on…) exist in the dataset.

The question is I’m not sure if this the right way to do it nor am I sure how to confirm the presence of these conformations. Any suggestions?

1 Like

Hi @vamsee,
This is quite interesting. I’m still thinking this through but if the following is true:

1. structure of monomer in state A is the same whether it’s found in an ABB, AAB, or AAA molecule (and likewise for B)
  2. symmetry is “perfect” in the sense that the C3 symmetry is not substantially broken in ABB or AAB molecules

Then I think the right thing to do will actually be:

1. consensus refinement with C3 symmetry of all particles
  2. symmetry expansion around C3 axis
  3. create a mask around just one subunit
  4. 3DVA with mask of one subunit, using cluster mode to separate the A and B conformations
  5. sort particles based on how many of the symmetry expanded copies were classified as A or B in the preceding step
    • each original particle was expanded into 3 new particles (representing each subunit). The expanded particles are classified based on the conformation of their single subunit that is within the mask. So they will come up AAA, AAB, ABB, or BBB