Local resolution colored map only showing one color

Hi,

I’m new to cryoSPARC and cryo-EM data processing. I’ve processed a dataset and
I have now used the local resolution estimation job and tried to display it as a colored map on the density in ChimeraX. Based on the resolution histogram in cryoSPARC, the range of resolutions populated are 2-10Å, however the whole density has the same color once I display it. In Chimera and in cryoSPARC I see that the full range of resolutions is from 0 to 30. So I’m wondering a couple of things:

1. Potentially this is only a displaying issue and if so, how can I change the range of resolutions within the color range in ChimeraX or in cryoSPARC? From 0-30 to 0-15Å for example?
  2. There might some other issue here that I’m unaware of, any ideas what it might be?

Hi @magda and welcome to the forum!

Plotting local resolution maps can be challenging — I myself have to remember how to do it basically every time. Here’s the process I typically use when producing one of these figures. For this example, I’m using some data I’ve processed from EMPIAR-10025.

How many voxels are in each resolution shell?

The first thing I’d recommend is to check out the plot CryoSPARC produces at the end of the Local Resolution Estimation job:

We can see that the resolution technically goes from 1.4-ish Å to 40 Å – but visually we can see that the majority of the voxels are in the region from about 2 to 5. You can also read out the statistics from the log message:

Local resolution stats (min, 25th percentile, median, 75th percentile, max):
(1.396, 2.935, 3.525, 6.452, 40.644)

We know that half of our voxels fall between the 25th and 75th percentiles (2.935 and 6.452, respectively). A quarter are below that range, and a quarter are above. So if we plot the full range from 1.4 to 40 Å, we’re using the vast majority of the color scale (from 6.4 to 40 Å) to cover only a quarter of the voxels!

How does ChimeraX color the maps?