Improving my protocol

Hi all!
I’m an undergraduate student new to the subject. I’m currently working on implementing cryo-EM analysis capabilities in our lab using CryoSPARC. I’m also new to the subject as a whole. Using the fantastic online course by prof. Grant Jensen and the documentation provided by CryoSPARC I built an analysis protocol that looks like this:

Using this protocol, we achieved a resolution of 2.9A, which is pretty good for a first-time try. However, when I Attemped to incorporate a global CTF refinement step or a local motion correction step, the resolution didn’t improve or even degraded. I am also not sure if I used every job in the correct order.
From a quick look at this forum, it is clear that I have a lot to learn on the subject. Any input you may provide will be very appreciated.

6 Likes

There’s a thread somewhere around here about whether or not local CTF refinement will work. From my understanding, Relion seems to be the program of choice for things like local CTF refinement and particle polishing, although it’s a pain to try to get the particles imported and I haven’t had experience with it.

Your workflow looks very clean- mine would likely look like spaghetti when I first start with a new molecule. There’s a lot of going back and forth trying to figure out which parameters my dataset is sensitive to, and in my case I’ve had difficulties dealing with a very flexible molecule that has difficulty centering for something like a blob-picker. So there are lots of tricks out there. Sometimes I do multiple ab initio models and take each model and do 2D classification on the particles to get out any sneaky noise. Heterogenous refinement has made a huge difference for me with all of my flexibility.