Homogenous refinement vs Helical refinement

Hi,

I am very new to helical refinements. In my case, the assmetric unit is around 24 kDa and there seems to be around 7 units per twist. When I am performing a homogenous refinement using the particles, I get to around 3.8 A resolution, and the map looks like the resolution estimate is correct. However, when I try to perform helical refinement with approximate symmetry parameters, I get similar resolution estimates. But the map is nowhere close to what I get from homogenous refinement. The mean-squared error plot from helical refinement has the minima close to 3 - from what I undetstand, that means the symmetry parameters are probably close to the actual values. So, I was wondering why I am not getting good quality maps from helical refinement.

Any help or insight is appreciated.

Thank you

Hi @Adwaith99,

Thanks for the question! We have some follow-up questions

• How did you do particle picking for this dataset? Are particles picked closely along the filament?
  • How did you estimate the helical symmetry parameters?
  • Is the homogeneous refinement done with a mask around the entire filament, or just one of the ASUs?

If possible, could you post (or DM to me) the following plots?

• FSC plots from homogeneous and helical refinements
  • The mean squared error from the helical refinement

Thank you,
Michael

Hi @mmclean,

Thank you for the response!

• These particles were picked using Template picker. The particles are picked closely along the filament.

• I estimated the helical symmetry parameters using the Symmetry search utilility using the good map that I got from homogenous refinement. And the values it gave made sense as well.

• For the homogenous refinement, I did not provide any mask. So, it used the default mask that homogenous refinement generates, and it covers the entire filament.

I am also attaching the plots you requested:

1. FSC for homogenous refinement