.eer versus .tif formats

Hi! I am new to CryoEM. Have 3 datasets, one of which was imported in .tif format, the other two were .eer. Should it give worst resolution of the overall model if analysing .tif?

The search on line says it should not matter. An yet…

Welcome. :slight_smile:

All else being equal, the format the data is saved in shouldn’t matter to any appreciable degree. The limit is almost always the grid preparation and the sample preparation or biochemistry of the sample (e.g.: sample stable and whole in cryo-EM but inactive in assays, or active in assays but higher than ideal percentage broken in cryo-EM…)

There are some cases where EER has an advantage over TIFF or MRC, although this is mostly in flexibility of how you motion correct and/or Bayesian polish/Reference Based Motion Correct your data.

The primary advantage of TIFF is file size (storage used) but you are “stuck” with what you acquire if for whatever reason you manage to get to resolutions higher than expected (although there are ways around that). Thus, if you take counting mode data and hit the Nyquist limit, you need to employ PASR to exceed that, while if when acquiring super resolution data you don’t hit the (physical) Nyquist limit, your data is taking up 4x more storage than it really needs to.

However, EER data can be resampled from 4K (physical Nyquist), 8K (super resolution) or 16K (double super resolution is what I’ve taken to calling it) but so far outside of a single “how far can this be pushed?” run, I’m not aware of anyone working with 16K data as hardware demands, both for storage and processing become rather extreme (I saw ~1.5TB RAM used for a single Bayesian polishing process).