Application of gain reference file in import movies job

Dear cryoSPARC team and users,

Hello, I’m very new to cryoEM and receiving a great deal of assistance from this forum.

Lately, I collected my dataset using the Falcon 4 detector and received a gain reference file in .gain format from the institute.

I intended to import the movie files with the gain reference file, but the job requires a file in .mrc format.

How can I properly convert the gain reference file from .gain format to .mrc format?

Thanks,

Rookie

Hi,

Welcome to the forums!

You can use dm2mrc, in the IMOD package (dm2mrc)

For further discussion: Gain reference in dm4 format: what should I do?

Cheers
Oli

Thank you for your quick response.

I installed IMOD and tried to convert the file using the following command.

dm2mrc my_gain_ref_file.gain my_gain_ref_file.mrc

But the program says my .gain file is not recognized as a DM file.

By the way, the instructor asked me to submit .gain file first, and if any errors occur, he’d like to discuss afterwards.

Thank you,

Rookie

Sorry I misread - I didn’t realize you’d said .gain and not .dm4! Check here for details re what to do with .gain files: https://groups.google.com/g/warp-em/c/-fOnQ34VMO8

2 Likes

I really dislike the “.gain” nonsense for the gain reference. It was one of the (many) issues I’ve mentioned to TFS directly in the past, and while most of them have been addressed this remains.

Due to issues with K3 gain drift* during a single acquisition run, I’ve long ago taken to generating my own gain references directly from the dataset (either RELION (relion_estimate_gain) or cisTEM (sum_all_tiff_files/sum_all_mrc_files) for TIFF/MRC or RELION (relion_estimate_gain) for EER). Generating a gain from 200-300 micrographs is usually sufficient for a good gain reference, although I usually use 500 because I’m perhaps overly cautious.