All classes become bright dots after turn off Force Max over poses/shifts

I am trying to do 2D class for a small protein complex (~90KDa). I turned off "Force Max over poses/shifts " hoping to obtain better 2D classes, but ended up getting featureless dot for all the classes. I’ve never used this feature before, so I don’t know what could cause this. Can anyone help me with this, please?

Hi, I’m not sure what is causing this, but I do notice that your box looks very large with respect to the particle size. Maybe try extracting in a smaller box, maybe half that size?

Cheers
Oli

Hi @Meiling, (and thanks @olibclarke!) - could you also let us know whether you were seeing reasonable classes before turning off Force Max ?

Thank you, @apunjani and @olibclarke for replying to my question.  
 Yes, I saw classes before I turned off Force Max (pic attached) although the background was noisy. I was trying different things hoping to get better classes and ran into the described issue with Force Max. 
 I did try setting the box size to 150 A (my particle diameter is about 110 A), and it gave me basically the same result (featureless bright dot for all classes).

By the way, I also tried turning on “Clamp-solvent” and “Enforce non-negativity” (while kept “Force Max” on), and seeing classes like below. I’m wondering how reliable the clamp-solvent model is and would it affect the subsequent analysis? I’m seeing lots of details in the classes, I wonder how reliable these classes are. I’m new to this, so I would appreciate any feedback. Thank you again!

Hi @Meiling,